This is how it all begins

A length of wire about 13cm long wrapped tightly around itself, then needle felt a ball. In my mind I’m thinking ‘Who is this going to be?’ I have ideas in my head of a little girl, dark skinned with big brown eyes, a mass of gorgeous curls.

This is a couple of hours work, adding layers slowly and felting firmly, listening to podcasts. I use 3 different needles from Heidi Feathers, the red end for deep stitches and the black and blue ends for finer detail.

2018-05-14 21.35.13

Then I when the ball is about 24cm in circumference I start to shape the head. This is my method – which maybe a little odd, but it seems to work. I put a picture of the side and front view of a dolls head up on my monitor (this one was I found using a google search). Then using pins I line up the nose, ears and the top of the head. Then by eye I add more wool so the shape is the same.

2018-05-16 17.51.15

First the chin, then the nose and the cheeks, it all looks a bit scary now and you wonder will it come together! Have faith…..keep going

2018-05-17 08.13.20

Next you add the lips, and they don’t need to look like real lips, and they are surprisingly near the nose – everything changes when you put the ‘skin’ on.

2018-05-17 17.42.21

I have a practice skin which I apply then. A while ago I got as far as adding freckles to a doll and putting the blush on the nose and lips, but I really wasn’t happy with my results. So this became my practice one! If you look carefully you can see those freckles – they now seem to be over the eyes…….that fabric really has been stretched! So here is the next doll with paper eyes, freckles on her eyelids and a bit of a smile.

2018-05-17 20.21.09

There are a few tweaks needed but I’m pretty happy with the result.

4 thoughts on “This is how it all begins

  1. Keep watching ! I’m now waiting for brown skin fabric from Debbie at little Oke dolls, I tried dyeing some but it came out a revolting green!

    Like

    • Green! Oh no… But maybe you could sew an adorable frog 🙂
      And what shade of brown? Mocha or the red-brown? Or even the dark brown?… cannot wait! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment